Narendra Modi, Nehru & more: Who are India's longest-serving prime ministers?

Narendra Modi declared his campaign slogan, "Ab ki baar, 400 paar," which means the BJP-led NDA coalition must win more than 400 seats.  

The BJP-led coalition defeated the NDA with great force, but not before the INDI alliance turned what was seen as a one-sided contest into a "kaante ki takkar."

According to the vote count on Tuesday, June 4, Modi's party would need the support of its coalition partners in order 

to surpass the 272 majority threshold in the 543-seat lower house of parliament, unlike the last two elections.

However, in the end, Prime Minister Narendra Modi emerged victorious, creating history and becoming one of the select few to govern the country for more than ten years.